So where am I now?

Well, my actual location is unimportant, the London area will suffice. I’m asking more as to my current drive towards my goal. My goal being one of absolute fitness in an attempt to not kill myself when I take on my biggest challenge yet.

I’ve been going to the gym, that’s good isn’t it? Working on cardio, core strength and general all round fitness. We now have a cross-trainer at home which I’ve used…erm…well okay, so I haven’t really used it yet. But I’m not going to the gym today so I’m going to force myself onto the cross-trainer whilst I watch a little tv tonight, once I’ve finished everything I need to do for the day. Which is a  lot. This is a problem, I’m not feeling completely motivated, partly due to the fact I’m always tired. I don’t think the weather helps much, but I’m not going to use that as an excuse. My main excuse is going to be that I’m a fat lazy b’stard who’s having trouble getting off the sofa in the evenings except for the odd trip back to the bottle of wine for another glass. I keep the wine in the kitchen, this means I have to walk through the house to get more, I’m sure that counts as exercise.

But I haven’t been out on my bike yet, I need to do some maintenance work on it before I do. New brake pads are required, this is a must given the death defying speeds I reach in that search for the illustrious adrenaline fix required to keep me functioning. A new inner tube for my rear tyre wouldn’t go amiss, the constant pumping does get irritating after a while. And to add insult to injury my left front shock has started to spew some of it’s contents out, I’m assuming new seals are required but I’ve stopped myself from looking at it for fear it may cost me money. Money, the precious metal I’m slightly short of at the minute.

In a nutshell I’m not feeling confident, but at the same time I’m sure this lack of confidence will dissipate once I really get going and start to feel better about myself. Especially once I don’t have to pick my stomach up prior to picking myself up off the sofa. Okay, so maybe it’s not quite that bad, but it feels it. I suddenly have an extra weight hanging off me which I’ve never had before. Maybe that’s tiring me out too? Is it simply that age is catching up with me though? Only time will tell…haha, if only other people found me as amusing as I do.

Anyway, so far, I believe if there was a stewards inquiry it would be decided that I have to work harder. Starting next week. Which is the same thing my boss always tells me, although he isn’t talking about mountain biking and he certainly isn’t talking about next week.

This entry was posted in Attempting to mountain bike and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So where am I now?

  1. Tatianna says:

    Hi
    I found your blog through Technorati. Saw your about me section :), you said you wanted to prove to your friend how easy it was to create a website?
    It was kind of hard for me though, but then again I am using a self hosted platform, and I wasn’t technical at all. Was struggling the first month and a half or so, but it’s seems to be easier at the moment. I only started blogging about 3 month’s ago.
    Anyway, I’m glad I found you blog, gonna look around. ( Ohh, love the name by the way 😉 )

    • itsMonkeyBoy says:

      I looked over your site and it’s great. Really well done. I’ve not been blogging as much as I probably should (although I’m sure that’s up for debate!) but shall endeavour to always do better. I shall have to read a few more of your hints and tips 🙂

Leave a Reply

