It’s all go go go!

I wanted to write about a quantum physics experiment that I love very much, I first read about it years ago but only saw it demonstrated on tv this year. Many thanks to Horizon for that. Unfortunately though I’m in the process of moving house and have therefore packed all things I don’t necessarily require and have therefore packed all my books away. Including all my physics books, so in short (doesn’t feel that short does it?) I don’t have the technical documents available to feel confident to write about it. You’ll be pleased to know.

Instead I shall write about something I do know. Stress. It’s reckoned that moving house is one of the most stressful things in life. Marriage and divorce being up there as well. Although I’d consider my occupation to be fairly high pressure in the scheme of things. So I’m not going to get married just yet, there’s the cost which can’t quite be afforded at the moment, but there’s also my health to think about.

Stress can hit us all in different ways. I like to think I handle stress pretty well, don’t we all? I’ve been struggling though, so what can I do about it? I could start working out again, great stress relief everyone claims, but it’s hard to work out when you’re feeling down. Eating healthily and keeping hydrated is another, this doesn’t bother me so much though. I don’t have a sweet tooth so that’s not a problem.

What else can I do then? I can try to ignore the stress and just enjoy life. That would be the perfect thing to do I believe. But I have a family to care for and worry about, so it’s not quite so easy to just ignore the issues that may or may not rear their ugly head in my path through life. I do try to enjoy myself when I can though. In fact, I may have a go on my PS3 this evening. Shoot some people on COD, great stress relief. How long does it last for though? Till Monday? I need something more permanent.

As you can probably tell this is quite a disorganized ramble. This is what stress is doing to me, it’s all around me all the time and affecting most parts of my life. I’m normally so chilled it’s hard for some people to believe I’m suffering with stress.

Oh well, I guess I’ll crack on with my gaming this evening for an hour. Maybe have a glass of wine. Just chill out for a while. Hope I may win the lottery (of course money doesn’t make one happy but it can help reduce the stress). If anyone has any ideas to share on how to get myself back on track please comment.

This entry was posted in General Nonsense and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s all go go go!

  1. Tatianna says:

    Gaming does help with stress, I love me some PS3 as well. But if you are looking for something more permanent, try some Meditation. Even if it’s for 5 minutes, this relieves stress like nothing I’ve tried before. I am normally not a person to sit around in stillness, but when I tried it something shifted and changed, all of a sudden I stopped feeling stressed.
    I will be waiting for your post on quantum physics experiment, what kind of experiment is it?

    • itsMonkeyBoy says:

      You know what, that’s a great idea. I used to do a lot of yoga, I maybe need to start that up again. I’ve been so stressed my brain isn’t totally active so sometimes answers which are right in front of me are not totally obvious. So thanks for the suggestion, although I’m quite similar and don’t find absolute stillness something to enjoy, but if the yoga doesn’t help I may just try the meditation.

      The experiment is Thomas Young’s double-slit experiment from about 200 years ago, demonstrating wave-particle duality. I love quantum physics and love reading about it, but this is just one experiment that keeps cropping up in texts which always has me in awe of the micro-world all around us.

  2. Tatianna says:

    Definitely try Yoga then, usually when we still our mind the answers just come. I feel the more I meditate the more clear things become, almost like a flow, you don’t have to ask questions anymore the answers just come. I didn’t enjoy sitting in stillness in the beginning, but all of a sudden I developed this urge to do it, it was weird at first but then it started to become more natural. I did start out with Yoga though.
    Quantum physics is such a fascinating subject, I always watch History Channel and all those theories just amaze me. You should keep experimenting, this world needs people like you.
    The other day I was watching Conan and one of his guests was a scientist that I always see on the show the ” The Universe ” , he was talking about time travel, even thought I don’t understand formulas, his theory made complete sense to me.
    When you do your experiment post it, so I can check it out.

Leave a Reply

